Beauty · Lifestyle · Uncategorized · Vegan · Writing

BEAUTY REVIEW: VEGAN MASCARA! Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara

Hey guys! So today I’m reviewing a product that’s very popular on the market right now, the Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara!

I’ve heard about this product for quite a while now.

I’ve heard some pretty stand up reviews from popular beauty YouTubers and also know it’s used by some well-known celebs such as Kylie Jenner.

So me, in need of a new mascara, thought I’d skip buying my usual go-to (Boots Seventeen Doll’d Up Mascara) and see what all the hype’s about. I bought it for £19 UK ($23 USA).

If you look on the Too Faced website, the claims for this mascara are to provide intense volume, curl, fullness and length, “to unbelievable lengths”. (Too Faced, 2017)

Also, they claim this mascara is long lasting, provides intense colour and is smudge-proof due to their formula’s ingredients, such as collagen, film firming polymer and Acacia Senegal Tree Extract.

A great point as well is that Too Faced are a cruelty free brand and many of their products are vegan!

Here’s the link to the Too Faced website if you want to have a look: https://www.toofaced.com/

I’ve been wearing this mascara for about two months now and this is what I’ve found.

IMAG0190_1

I was a little apprehensive about mascaras that are targeted for intense volume as I’ve found in the past, their thick bristle wands tend to clump my lashes. So, I’ve leaned towards the plastic wands with the little teeth to really separate my lashes and create the volume myself with a few coats.

However, with this mascara I was pleasantly surprised on the volume front.

The mascara wand is like an hourglass shape, wider on the ends and thinner in the middle and it seems to address this concern. It did clump a little on my first few wears, but after I got used to using the wand more, hardly any clumps whatsoever!

I will happily admit, as someone who wasn’t too jazzed on mascaras targeted mainly for volume, this mascara delivers! My lashes have never looked so full!

They weren’t joking at all when they said intense black colour. The colour is INTENSE! The last time I’ve seen such pigmented colour on a mascara was the Max Factor False Lash Effect Mascara (very good product!).

It provides lift and it does curl my lashes more than my Boots Seventeen mascara (but Doll’d Up will always have a special place in my heart!).

As far as smudge-proof goes? That’s the downside. On my bottom lashes it does smudge so I just apply it to my top lashes and use my Boots Seventeen Doll’d Up for my bottom lashes as that formula doesn’t move at all!

Also, it does last for a while but it can go pretty flaky after a long day. So I wouldn’t say on the smudge-proof and insanely long-lasting front that it lives up to those claims.

All in all, I can see why there’s so much hype around this product.

Not as long-lasting aside, I love the effect it has, how intense the colour is and makes me look like I’m wearing fake lashes (always a plus in my book!).

It’s a good product and the fact it caters to cruelty free and vegan customers (I’m trying to transition to fully having products by companies that don’t test on animals/are vegan) I think that’s pretty awesome!

Hope you enjoyed this review guys, happy Saturday! 🙂

Copyright, 2017

 

Leave a Reply

