Lifestyle · Mental Health · Uncategorized · Writing

Self-Care: The Importance of Music

Music has been around since the beginning of time. It entertains us, moves us and can express what we can’t put in words.

But as well as something to dance to or rock out to, music can be there for people and help them through rough patches in their life.

As usual guys, disclaimer: what works for one person might not work for another. Do what’s best for you, providing it is positive and not self-destructive.

I’m a person that loves listening to music. I can’t go a day without listening to some form of music. I’ve always been like it, that’s just my nature.

But for me, I can use music, something I’ve always enjoyed, as a form of self-care. It can help me be more mindful and bring me back to the here and now if I’m having an anxiety attack, or help me zone out if I need to.

Listening to music allows a release for however good or bad you’re feeling.

What type of music do I listen to? I listen to pretty much everything.

Whether it’s Elgar’s Cello Concerto, Kizomba music, binaural beats or blasting my ears out with Breaking Benjamin, I listen to whatever I feel like.

Some music I’ve recently been enjoying is relaxation music. For those of you who are new to the blog, I mentioned in my last self-care post I’m starting to work on mindfulness again, after learning and practicing it on a wellbeing course and finding it useful.

The music I’ve been listening to is on a YouTube channel called Yellow Brick Cinema (disclaimer: I’m not sponsored by them, I just think their channel’s awesome!). They provide videos with music (some as long as 8 hours) targeted for relaxation for sleep, yoga, meditation, mindfulness, study, etc. just to name a few.

I found since listening to some of my favourite videos of theirs, I’ve been more mindful, more relaxed and been able to cope with triggers a lot better.

As well as Kizomba and other forms of Latin and Afro-Latin music. I love Kizomba dancing and the music is fantastic. Anything that can get me up and dancing is always a positive for me! Anyone puts on ‘Despacito’ and that’s it, I’m dancing!

So if you find music helps improve your mood, go for it!

 

Hope you enjoyed this post guys, happy Tuesday! 🙂

SAMARITANS: 116 123

NATIONAL SUICIDE PREVENTION LIFELINE (USA): 1-800-273-8255

Copyright, 2017

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

