Beauty · Lifestyle · Uncategorized · Vegan · Writing

BEAUTY PRODUCT REVIEW: Good Things Pore-Fectly Clear Charcoal Face Scrub

Hey everyone!

Coming back at you with another beauty related post! Today’s review is on the Good Things Pore-Fectly Clear Charcoal Face Scrub.

Disclaimer: I’ve not been sponsored by Good Things to write this post.

I’ve been using Good Things products on and off for a few years now after deciding to try a new cleanser a few years back (I’ll be doing another review on the cleanser in question at a later date).

For those who don’t know, Good Things is skincare company that was developed by beauty journalist Alice Hart-Davis, launching in 2010. So in the grand scheme of things, it’s still a fairly new company on the beauty market. Their pledge is to use natural ingredients in their skincare to make the most of your skin at an affordable price.

They have 3 main skincare ranges: SUPERFRUITS (their first collection launched), PORE-FECTLY CLEAR and MANUKA HONEY.

All their products are suitable for vegetarians and their SUPERFRUITS and PORE-FECTLY CLEAR range are suitable for vegans. The company also do not test their products on animals (hooray!).

This face scrub is part of the PORE-FECTLY CLEAR range.

The company’s claims for this scrub are: “Oily, blemish prone skin needs careful treatment to unblock pores, draw out impurities and keep skin looking smooth and fresh. PORE-FECTLY CLEAR Face Scrub with pomegranate extract uses willow bark to gently exfoliate, charcoal powder to draw out impurities from clogged pores, caffeine and kaolin to reduce skin redness and rebalance oil levels. Skin looks clearer, fresher and more radiant.”

So a whole loads of claims there! But does it live up to those claims?

I have combination skin (currently more oily in the T-Zone at the moment due to the warmer weather) so looking for a decent cruelty free exfoliator, purchased this bad-boy. This product is available on http://www.goodthingsbeauty.com for £4.99 and also available in Boots.

I’ve been using this product for a couple of months now and so far I can say it’s pretty decent. Before I used to use the St. Ives Apricot Scrub which is a very rough exfoliator, so you don’t need to use it often.

With this scrub, I usually use it around twice a week along with my current skincare regimen. It’s gentler than the St. Ives scrub I formerly used but because of the willow bark it does still having some pretty solid scrubbing power so go gentle please! We don’t want skin being rubbed raw!

As far it’s claims to draw out impurities and clear the skin goes, it does help refresh and give my skin a boost, especially if it’s looking a little tired (thanks caffeine!). So if I’m looking to brighten up my skin a little and give it some TLC, this is one of my go-to products.

It feels slightly cooling when you apply it and my skin doesn’t feel like it’s been bombarded with acids and chemicals as it has done using other products. Shout out to natural products! Also, it does help to clear your skin of excess oils but doesn’t leave it feeling completely stripped.

On the combatting redness front (as someone who does have redness in their face) this has been good so far to even out my skin tone. After using it my skin feels plumper, brighter, cleaner and a heck of a lot less red!

It may not be as heavy duty as some other exfoliators I’ve used in the past, but it’s certainly heavy duty enough to do (so far) a pretty decent job on my skin.

So all in all, I’d give this product a thumbs up and I highly recommend it to those looking for a cruelty free vegan alternative that isn’t going to break the bank!

 

Hope you enjoyed this post guys and if there’s any products you recommend me to review let me know in the comments! 🙂

Happy Thursday! 🙂

Copyright, 2017

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

