Lifestyle · Romance · Uncategorized · Writing

Writing: Why Did I Choose Romance?

For those of you who are new to my blog (in which case, a very warm welcome to you! :D) I’m a bit of a romance novel nut.

I love reading it, I love writing it, the whole shebang!

But with all the many different genres to hone in on, why romance of all things?

First of all, I’m a romantic. Always have been, always will be. But truth be told, I wasn’t always in to the romance novels I so love to read now.

There’s been this stereotype which still runs scarily prevalent today, that people who read romance are just stereotypical middle-aged housewives who have nothing better to do with their time. Right?

Wrong!

To break that stereotype, I am a young woman in my early 20s, with university education and works in a creative industry.

And to vilify a demographic of people over a genre that isn’t to your particular taste is just plain wrong to start with. You can be a housewife, office worker or corporate high-flyer, whatever your literary flavour is be it romance, thriller, horror, non-fiction, I wish you very happy reading!

So what took me from curiosity to an avid fan of the genre?

I remember whenever I used to go in to WHSmiths as a teenager, seeing the Mills & Boon section, with its cover art that made the novels very obviously romance, and was very curious. I’d heard that people read them, but I never really saw anyone go over and physically buy them.

It seemed because of these stereotypes mentioned before, people were avoiding this section like the plague.

Being a person who loved romance themes in stories, I was curious to see what all the fuss was about.

One day when I was about seventeen, I wandered over to this section and picked up a book (whichever story it was I can’t remember) I read the blurb, was quite taken with the summary and my curiosity piqued even more.

But instead of buying it, I placed it back on the shelf. I had seen people turn their noses up at these stories, ridiculing them and the people who read them, and I was afraid to be given the same judgement.

After a while of plucking up the courage and realising “Well, who cares what people think?!”, I went back in to the shop, picked up one of the books that caught my interest and bought my first Mills & Boon romance novel.

It was a 2 in 1 book: His Heir, Her Honor by Catherine Mann and Mistress to the Merciless Millionaire by Abby Green.

Once I got home, I started reading and I couldn’t put the book down. I absolutely loved it!

After that, it would be around two years later when I was at university until I bought my next story.

I felt I was long overdue a romance story and looking for some escapism from the arduous hours in the library essay writing.

So on my break, I went to the shop and bough what is now an old favourite and very fun read: Man vs Socialite by Charlotte Phillips. 

And that was when my love for romance stories really started to grow. The more I read, the more I fell in love with it.

And the rest is history!

One of the things I loved from the start is no matter the setting, be it royalty, medical, historical etc. the primary focus is always on the two main characters.

Their likes, dislikes, idiosyncrasies etc. which I feel in other stories can be lost at times. The way these stories are written and how it taps deeply in feelings (it is romance after all) not only takes you on an emotional journey, but also is a good teacher if you’re wanting to write romance.

Best way to learn to write? Read! Read! Read!

For me, romance novels provide escapism whatever type of day it’s been, but above all else it’s something I deeply enjoy and makes for very fun reading!

So if you’ve never read a romance novel before, don’t turn your nose up at it, give it a go! You might be surprised! ๐Ÿ™‚

Hope you enjoyed this post guys! ๐Ÿ™‚

Happy Monday! ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Copyright, 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Writing: Why Did I Choose Romance?

  1. Ohhh, you are so right. There’s a huge prejudice about romance novels, and yet, Nora Roberts is one of the most prolific, successful authors in the country. Go figure – you rarely read about her in mainstream news. Why are people SCARED of romance? I’m still trying to figure that out. Fortunately, less romance books feature ‘bodice-ripping covers’ (as they used to be called). The focus should be on the relationship between two people, as you say here. Hear Hear!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for taking the time to read and comment, much appreciated! ๐Ÿ™‚ Romance is such a huge part of life and our society throughout history yet romance in print has stirred much conversation and controversy over the centuries. I do believe discussion is imperative, we just need the conversation open minded and honest, without the stereotypes attached to it.
      I don’t know why we are scared of romance in print, maybe due to history’s conservative approach through the years? (For example, back when the Waltz was first introduced to us, that was considered scandalous for the time!) Who knows! Luckily we live in a time where there’s been more progression in attitudes towards this genre so hopefully there’ll be less judgement as time goes on ๐Ÿ™‚

      Rachael x
      alittlemooresite.wordpress.com

      Liked by 1 person

      1. And I’ve been reading articles regaling Jane Austen and her books and the “genius” of them. She was a wonderful romance writer – why don’t the pundits just admit that!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ xo

        Like

Leave a Reply

